St. Leonhards Church
|Use the BACK-Icon to return to VTour||Deutscher Text|
he curch was already constructed for the first time in the late 11th century. After the earthquake of 1356, the choir was rebuilt and is situated behind the small but massive tower which dates back to the same time. The impressive nave was built in the 15th century. The actual side to look at is directed towards the square of St. Leonhards Church.
People also call this church Lohnhof (salary court) because from 1692 to 1798 a pay office
was installed there. Since then, the police has used a part of the building, above the
Barfüsser Square, as a remand prison.
A part of the building is open for visitors from 8:30 am to 6 pm every day. The rooms inside the Lohnhof are also used for classical concerts.