St. Peters Chruch
|Use the BACK-Icon to return to VTour||Deutscher Text|
here is no evidence of the date of origin of St. Peters Church. According to what has been found in excavations, a chruch had already been built there, before the town reached that area. St. Peters Church was mentioned for the first time in 1219 as a parish church.
The "Chorherrenstift" was built in 1233.
After the earthquake of 1356, the impressive nave of the church was rebuilt. In the adjacent chapels, above all in the Eberler Chapel, one can admire precious mural painting from the 15th century. Thee square around the Gothic church used to be a cemetery where a monument in honour of the poet Johann Peter Hebel (1760-1826) has been erected now.