he square around the Barfüsser church, which was first constructed as a convent for the Franciscans
in 1253-1256, ist called Barfüsser square. In 1298, the convent was almost completely destroyed by fire.
However, the bishop supported the reconstruction of a new church.
After the great earthquake of 1356, the market took place on the Barfüsser square for some
time because the market place itself could not be used due the construction of a new city hall.
The Lainen cemetery, which belongs to the Barfüsser church, was changed to a public square
in 1529 because the river Birsig (which is now covered) often had high water.
From 1758 onwards, the Barfüsser square additionally served as a market square and was also
used during the Autumn Fair.
In 1882, the curch was supposed to be broken down. However, the Great Council decided against
it by a narrow majority.
Until the "Markthalle" (covered market) was indroduced in 1929, the Barfüsser square served as a trade square
for fruit and vegetable where also porks were sold. That is why the Barfüsser square received
the nickname "Seibi".
Nowadays, the square is used for various cultural activities as well as for the Autumn Fair
(Herbstmesse) and for the Christmas market. The Barfüsser church was converted into the historical
museum in 1894 where the history of Basel is presented, and where also the Minster treasure and tapestries can be admired.