Sevogel Fountain


Use the BACK-Icon to return to VTour Deutscher Text
texte franšais


riginally, this fountain had its place on the corn-market square (market place) and was therefore called corn-market fountain. In 1530, high water damaged St. Christopher who could be admired on the top of the fountain. Sixteen years later, Hans Tobell was asked to give the fountain a new design. Thus, St. Christopher was replaced by a statue of Herman Sevogel, who was the most famous hero of the battle of St. Jakob.
When the river Birsig was covered at the market place, the fountain had to be removed as well. A few years later, in 1899, a new place was found for the ancient corn-market fountain on the Martin's place, after the construction of the state archives.
In 1987, the Sevogel fountain was renovated.