he minster, built out of sandstone, is one of the sights of the city. It was consecrated in 1019 in the presence of
the Emperor Henry II.
The fire of 1058 an 1258 damaged the minster to a great extent. Moreover, the earthquake of 1356 destroyed the high vaults, the upper stories of the
towers and the crypt.
In the iconoclast of February 1529, the altars and some pictures were destroyed as well.
However, most of the stone graves could be preserved. In 1852, a new organ was installed.
The minster has got elements from different periods: The main building, the choir and the
transept are late Romanesque, the towers, on the other hand, late Gothic. Moreover, in the
interior of the minster, one can find Romanesque capitals, Gothic seatings, reliefs and
The two towers are called St. Martin's tower (south) and St. George's tower (north). Due to air
pollution, some parts of the minster have to be renovated from time to time.
In 1784, the minster-square fountain was built according to the design
of the artist Paolo Antonio Pisoni.
In former times, the minster square, surrounded by picturesque houses from the 18th century,
was frequented above all on the numerous religious holidays.
Nowadays, the square is used for various purposes, such as for open-air cinema in late summer
or for the big Ferris wheel and some other rides during the Autumn Fair ("Herbstmesse").
Moreover, on carneval Tuesday (children's carneval) all the Cliques show their lanterns
on the minster square.