Middle Bridge


Use the BACK-Icon to return to VTour Deutscher Text
texte franšais


he first bridge which united the village Kleinbasel (smaller Basel) with the Town Grossbasel (greater Basel) was built in 1226. Its construction turned out to be very expensive and it could only be built with some securities from various convents. The bridge was mainly maintained with the help of custom fees which had to be paid when crossing the bridge. However, the construction of the bridge was worthwhile because it turned out to be economically profitable for the town. High water damaged the bridge several times. Above all, the wooden part had to be repaired repeatedly. In 1905, a new bridge was built out of stone.